CWPA Committee Members

CWPA Committee and Task Force Members, 2017-2018

Committee memberships run from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018.

Affiliates Committee 

The Affiliates Committee, which is composed of representatives of each of the Affiliates selected by those Affiliates, is charged with:

  1. Identifying and working on issues of concern to Affiliates
  2. Making recommendations to the Executive Board about issues of concern to Affiliates
  3. Reviewing applications for new Affiliates and making recommendations to the Executive Board in response to those applications

Kay Halasek (chair)
Michael Anderson
Doug Downs
Collie Fulford
Jonathan Hunt
Mark McBeth
Alison Reynolds
Valerie Ross
Susan Thomas
Elizabeth Vogel
Leslie Werden

Best Book Award Committee 
The Best Book Award Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting nominees for the annual CWPA Best Book Award
  2. Selecting a recipient for the award from among the nominees
  3. Collecting models for the call for nominations, a list of criteria, and a description of the process of selection to place on the CWPA website for future committees

Genesea Carter, Colorado State University (chair) genesea.carter@colostate.edu
Michael Rifenberg, University of North Georgia michael.rifenburg@ung.edu
Megan O’Neill, New Jersey Institute of Technology megan.e.o'neill@njit.edu
Kristine Johnson, Calvin College kjohns14@calvin.edu
Rita Malenczyk, Eastern Connecticut State malenczykr@easternct.edu
Carol Rutz, Carleton crutz@carleton.edu

 

Breakfast Committee 
The Breakfast Committee is charged with:

  1. Planning the annual CWPA Reception at the CCCC conference in Portland
  2. Collecting and reporting feedback from the membership of CWPA about our new reception format
  3. Making recommendations to the CWPA Executive Board for any needed policies, changes, or procedures for future CCCC Receptions

Sherry Rankins-Robertson, U of Arkansas (chair) sjrobertson@ualr.edu
Lorie Jacobs, University of Houston-Clear Lake jacobsl@uhcl.edu
Katherine Daily O’Meara, Emporia State University komeara@emporia.edu
Brandon Fralix, Bloomfield College brandon_fralix@bloomfield.edu
Christine Cucciarre, University of Delaware (EB Member) ccucc@udel.edu

Conference Siting Committee
The Conference Siting Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting proposals for siting the annual conference
  2. Reviewing proposals for siting the annual conference and making a recommendation to the Executive Board
  3. Collecting materials related to conference siting (CFP, criteria, description of the review process) to be posted on the CWPA website for future committees

Heidi Estrem, Boise State University (chair) heidiestrem@boisestate.edu
Casie Fedukovich, North Carolina State University cjfeduko@ncsu.edu
Tonya Eick, Arizona State University teick@asu.edu
Mark Blaauw-Hara, North Central Michigan College (EB Member) markblaauwhara@gmail.com
Jacob Babb, Indiana University Southeast babbj@ius.edu

Consultant-Evaluator Service Committee 
The Consultant-Evaluator Service Committee is charged with advising the Director of the CWPA Consultant-Evaluator Service.

Shirley Rose, Arizona State University (chair) Shirley.Rose@asu.edu
Michael Pemberton, Georgia Southern University michaelp@georgiasouthern.edu
Joe Janangelo, Loyola University Chicago jjanang@luc.edu
Dominic DelliCarpini, York College of Pennsylvania (CWPA President) dcarpini@ycp.edu
Staci Perryman-Clark (EB Member) staci.perryman-clark@wmich.edu

Digital WPA Committee 
The Digital WPA Committee is charged with:

  1. Advises the CWPA on organizational digital policies and practices
  2. Drafts language on WPA digital practices and trends for the Executive Board to consider

Traci Gardner, Virginia Tech (chair) tengrrl@vt.edu
Scott Warnock, Drexel University (EB MEMBER) sjwarnock@drexel.edu
Patricia Poblete, Iowa State University patti.poblete@gmail.com
Emily Wierszewski, Seton Hill wierszewski@setonhill.edu
Robert N. Calton, MIT rcalton@mit.edu
Cat Mahaffey, UNC Charlotte chmahaff@uncc.edu
Michael R. Moore, DePaul U mmoore46@depaul.edu

Disability and Accessibility Committee 
The Disability and Accessibility Committee is charged with:

  1. Advising CWPA on making writing programs more accessible and inclusive
  2. Providing guidelines for making CWPA’s annual conference more accessible and inclusive

Bre Garrett, University of West Florida (chair) rgarrett@uwf.edu
Janet Whiteaker, Tennessee Tech University jwhiteaker@tntech.edu
Melissa Nicolas, UC Merced Melissanicolas8@gmail.com
Tracy Morse, East Carolina U morset@ecu.edu
Anne-Marie Womack, Tulane Awomack1@tulane.edu

Diversity Committee 
The Diversity Committee is charged with:

  1. Recommending language for the Conference Siting Committee to include in their call for proposals to host the conference
  2. Drafting a policy for the Executive Board to consider for how to respond when hostile legislation is passed in an already-selected conference location
  3. Working with the CWPA Officers to recommend specific ways that CWPA committees can consider issues of diversity in their work
  4. Identifying and working on other issues of diversity in CWPA and in writing programs

Paula Patch, Elon University (chair) (EB Member) ppatch@elon.edu
Karen Keaton Jackson, North Carolina Central University (EB Member) kkjackson@nccu.edu
Susan Miller-Cochran, University of Arizona (EB Member) millercochran@email.arizona.edu
Jason DePolo, North Carolina A&T University jdepolo@ncat.edu
Brenda Refaei, U of Cincinnati Blue Ash College refaeibg@uc.edu
Kendall Leon, CSU Chico kleon1@csuchico.edu

Graduate Committee 
The Graduate Committee is elected by members of WPA-GO.

WPA-GO webpage

Graduate Research Awards Committee
The Graduate Research Awards Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting nominees for the annual CWPA Graduate Research Awards
  2. Selecting recipients for the awards from among the nominees
  3. Collecting models for the call for nominations, a list of criteria, and a description of the process of selection to place on the CWPA website for future committees

Cristyn Elder, University of New Mexico (chair) celder@unm.edu
Yndalecio Isaac Hinojosa, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi yndalecio.hinojosa@tamucc.edu
Christopher Minnix, University of Alabama at Birmingham cminnix@uab.edu
Jill Parrott, Eastern Kentucky University jill.parrott@eku.edu
Carolyn Wisniewski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign cwisnie@illinois.edu
Joyce Inman, University of Southern Mississippi joyce.inman@usm.edu
Erica Stone, Texas Tech erica.m.stone@gmail.com
Lilian Mina, Auburn University Montgomery lilian.mina@gmail.com
Erin Workman, Depaul University EWORKMA1@depaul.edu

Kenneth Bruffee Award Committee 
The Kenneth Bruffee Award Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting nominees for the annual CWPA Kenneth Bruffee Award, the award for the best article published in WPA: Writing Program Administration
  2. Selecting a recipient for the award from among the nominees
  3. Collecting models for the call for nominations, a list of criteria, and a description of the process of selection to place on the CWPA website for future committees

Jeffrey Klausman, Whatcom Community College (chair) jklausman@whatcom.edu
Tricia Serviss, UC Davis trishserviss@gmail.com
Julia Voss, Santa Clara University julia.voss@gmail.com
Karen Keaton-Jackson, North Carolina Central University (EB Member) kkjackson@nccu.edu
Erin Banks-Kirkham, La Sierra University ebanks@lasierra.edu

Labor Committee
The Labor Committee is charged with:

  1. Compiling labor resources and making them available to members
  2. Making recommendations to the Executive Board about how CWPA should be working with other organizations on labor issues
  3. Making a recommendation to the Executive Board in response to the Indianapolis Resolution

Seth Kahn, Westchester University (co-chair) SKahn@wcupa.edu
Darci Thoune, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (co-chair) dthoune@uwlax.edu
Michelle LaFrance, George Mason University mlafran2@gmu.edu
Harrison Carpenter, University of Colorado, Boulder harrison.carpenter@colorado.edu
Michael McCamley, University of Delaware (EB Member) mccamley@udel.edu
Samantha Morgan-Curtis, Tennessee State University scurtis@tnstate.edu
Megan Titus, Rider University metitus@rider.edu
Scott Gage, Texas A&M San Antonio sbgage@gmail.com

Liaison Committee 
The Liaison Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting paper and panel proposals for the annual CWPA session at MLA, reviewing and selecting the panel, and submitting the information to MLA
  2. Writing a description of the process for soliciting and selecting proposals for MLA for CWPA to post on the website for future committees
  3. Acting as a liaison with other organizations as needed/required and making recommendations to the Executive Board about how CWPA should connect with other organizations

Mark Blaauw-Hara, North Central Michigan College (Chair, EB Member) markblaauwhara@gmail.com
Andrea Scott, Pitzer College Andrea_Scott@pitzer.edu
Patrick Shaw, University of South Alabama pjshaw@southalabama.edu
Jeff Andelora, Mesa CC jeffrey.andelora@mesacc.edu
Jeff Klausman, Whatcom CC jklausman@whatcom.edu

Membership/Newcomers Committee 
The Membership/Newcomers Committee is charged with:

  1. Capturing the history and stories of the membership
  2. Increasing membership in new and underserved populations within the organization
  3. Working in tandem with other committees to understand, anticipate, and meet the needs of newcomers to the organization as well as long-standing members

Sonja Andrus, University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College (Chair) sonja.andrus@uc.edu
Sheila Carter-Tod, Virginia Tech (EB Member) sct@vt.edu
Geoffrey Clegg, Penn State University geoffrey.clegg@gmail.com
Sara DiCaglio, Texas A&M sdicaglio@tamu.edu
Kaitlin Clinnin, UNLV kaitlin.clinnin@unlv.edu

Mentoring Project Committee 
The Mentoring Project Committee is charged with:

  1. Assigning mentors to new WPAs at their request
  2. Selecting and sponsoring Mentoring sessions at the annual CWPA conference
  3. Coordinating with WPA-GO as needed

Joe Janangelo, Loyola University Chicago (co-chair) jjanang@luc.edu
Melissa Nicolas, University of Nevada Reno (co-chair) Melissanicolas8@gmail.com
Susan Miller-Cochran, University of Arizona (WPA-GO liaison, EB Member) millercochran@email.arizona.edu
Cindy Moore, Loyola University Maryland clmoore1@loyola.edu

Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting nominees for vacant Executive Board positions
  2. Determining a slate of candidates from the nominations for the CWPA election in the spring
  3. Writing a description of the process for soliciting and selecting candidates for the election to post on the website for future Nominating Committees

Mark Blaauw-Hara, North Central Michigan College (chair) markblaauwhara@gmail.com
Becky Caouette, Rhode Island College bcaouette@ric.edu
Patrick Shaw, University of South Alabama pjshaw@southalabama.edu
Cheri Lemieux Spiegel, Northern Virginia Community College (EB Member) cspiegel@nvcc.edu
Genevieve Garcia de Mueller, University of Texas Rio Grande (EB Member) genevieve.garciademueller@utrgv.edu

Outstanding Scholarship Award Committee 
The Outstanding Scholarship Award Committee is charged with:

  1. Soliciting nominees for the annual CWPA Outstanding Scholarship Award, an award for outstanding article-length scholarship published outside of the WPA journal
  2. Selecting a recipient for the award from among the nominees
  3. Collecting models for the call for nominations, a list of criteria, and a description of the process of selection to place on the CWPA website for future committees

Courtney Wooten, Stephen F. Austin State University (chair) wootenc1@sfasu.edu
Ryan Dippre, University of Maine ryan.dippre@maine.edu
Regina McManigell Grijalva, Oklahoma City University ramcmanigell@okcu.edu
Lisa Mahle-Grisez, Sinclair CC lisa.mahle-grisez@sinclair.edu
Crystal Fodrey, Moravian College fodreyc@moravian.edu
Katherine Daily O'Meara, Emporia State U komeara@emporia.edu

Publications Committee
The Publications Committee is charged with:

  1. Helping facilitate the transition to the new editorial team for WPA: Writing Program Administration
  2. Selecting a new co-editor for the WPA/CompPile Annotated Bibliographies
  3. Providing oversight for CWPA publications

Susan Miller-Cochran, University of Arizona (chair) millercochran@email.arizona.edu
Lori Ostergaard, Oakland University (WPA Journal editor) ostergaa@oakland.edu
Jim Nugent, Oakland University (WPA Journal editor) nugent@oakland.edu
Jacob Babb, Indiana University Southeast (WPA Journal editor) babbj@ius.edu
David Blakesley, Clemson University dblakes@clemson.edu
Dylan Dryer, University of Maine dylan.dryer@maine.edu
Carrie Leverenz, TCU c.leverenz@tcu.edu
Joel Williams, Edward Waters College jmwilliams@ewc.edu

Research Grants Committee 
The Research Grants Committee is charged with:

  1. Developing and issuing the annual call for WPA Research Grant proposals
  2. Reviewing and selecting recipients of WPA Research Grants

Chuck Paine, University of New Mexico (co-chair) cpaine@unm.edu
Diane Kelly-Riley, University of Idaho (co-chair) dianek@uidaho.edu
Dylan Dryer, University of Maine dylan.dryer@maine.edu
Michelle LaFrance, George Mason University mlafran2@gmu.edu
Kristi McDuffie, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign kmcduff@illinois.edu
Lee Nickoson, Bowling Green University leenick@bgsu.edu
Bradley Smith, Governers State University bsmith7@govst.edu
Gay Lynn Crossley, Marian University glc@marian.edu

Ad Hoc Committee on the Dartmouth Research Seminar 
The Ad Hoc Committee on the Dartmouth Research Seminar is charged with advising the director of the seminar.

Christiane Donahue, Dartmouth College (chair)
Chris Anson, North Carolina State University
Joseph Bizup, Boston University
John Brereton, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Malkiel Choseed, Onondaga Community College
Dylan Dryer, University of Maine
Heidi Estrem, Boise State University
Rich Haswell, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
Joe Janangelo, Loyola University Chicago
Neal Lerner, Northeastern University
Mya A. Poe, Northeastern University
Duane Roen, Arizona State University

Task Force on Revisiting/Revising the Statement on the Intellectual Work of Writing Administration

This Task Force is charged with:

  1. Reviewing the existing statement to determine what needs to be revised, based on current research in writing program administration.
  2. Submitting a draft to the CWPA Executive Board for its March 2017 meeting in Portland.

Libby Miles, University of Vermont (co-chair)
Jill Gladstein, Swarthmore College (co-chair)
Dominic DelliCarpini, York College of Pennslyvania
Clint Gardner, Salt Lake Community College
Laurie A. Pinkert, University of Central Florida
Shirley K Rose, Arizona State University
Kathleen Ryan, Montana State University
Mark Blaauw-Hara, North Central Michigan College
Sherry Rankins-Robertson, University of Arkansas

Keywords: