Call for Executive Board Nominations

Call for Nominations

Executive Board, Council of Writing Program Administrators

In July 2018, the CWPA Executive Board will say goodbye to members Asao Inoue (University of Washington-Tacoma), Karen Keaton Jackson (North Carolina Central University), and Cheri Lemieux Spiegel (Northern Virginia Community College).

We therefore invite nominations for three new Executive Board members, each of whom will serve a three-year term beginning in July 2018.

The Executive Board:

  • oversees the CWPA, its events, and its activities;
  • forms policies and procedures for its management; and
  • engages in special projects and initiatives.

In addition, each Executive Board Member:

  • serves as a voting member of the Executive Board; and
  • serves on one or two committees for the organization.

All nominees should have a demonstrated commitment to the work of the Council and a background in writing-program administration. They must be willing to attend board meetings at the CCCC conference and at the CWPA summer conference during their full term of service. (Technology-mediated attendance is available in special circumstances.) Self-nominations as well as nominations of others are welcomed.

To be considered, a nomination should include:

  • all contact information;
  • a CV (attached or available at a Web site) or a description of the nominee's work; and
  • a statement explaining why the nominee makes a strong candidate for membership on the CWPA Executive Board. 

If you are nominating another individual, please secure the nominee's permission before submitting the nomination.

All nominators and nominees must be current members of the Council of Writing Program Administrators. Nominations are reviewed by the CWPA Nominating Committee, which develops a slate of candidates for the ballot. If you have questions about serving on the Executive Board, please contact Mark Blaauw-Hara, Chair of the CWPA Nominating Committee, at

Please send your nominations via e-mail to Mark Blaauw-Hara ( by November 24, 2017. Please use the heading "Executive Board Nomination" in your message.

Other Nominating Committee members are Becky Caouette (Rhode Island College), Patrick Shaw (University of South Alabama), Cheri Lemieux Spiegel (Northern Virginia Community College), and Genevieve Garcia de Mueller (University of Texas Rio Grande).

Please note that while all nominations are welcome and will receive due consideration, increased diversity among our leadership is a priority to which the organization has committed itself. Nominations of individuals from underrepresented groups and individuals who can lend diverse perspectives are strongly encouraged.