Council of Writing Program Administrators Executive Board

The Council of Writing Program Administrators is a national association of college and university faculty who serve or have served as directors of first year composition or writing programs, coordinators of writing centers and writing workshops, chairpersons and members of writing-program-related committees, or in similar administrative capacities. The Council of Writing Program Administrators is an affiliate of the Association of American Colleges and the Modern Language Association.

CWPA Executive Board Members

CWPA is led by an Executive Board, whose current membership consists of:

  • Mark Blaauw-Hara, President, North Central Michigan College (term ends 2021; will succeed to Immediate Past President)
  • Susan Thomas, Vice President, University of Sydney (term ends 2021; will succeed to President)
  • Dominic DelliCarpini, Immediate Past President, York College of Pennsylvania (term ends 2021)
  • Lilian Mina, Auburn University at Montgomery (term ends 2021)
  • Courtney Adams Wooten, George Mason University¬†(term ends 2021)
  • Patti Poblete, Henderson State University (term ends 2022)
  • Annie Del Principe, Kingsborough Community College (term ends 2022)
  • Derek Mueller, Virgina Tech (term ends 2022)
  • Katherine Daily O'Meara, St. Norbert College (term ends 2023)
  • Sarah Snyder, Arizona Western College (term ends 2023)
  • Julia Voss, Santa Clara University (term ends 2023)


  • Sherry Rankins-Robertson, Treasurer, University of Central Florida
  • Kelly Blewett, Secretary, Indiana University East
  • Shirley Rose, Co-Director, Consultant Evaluator Service,¬†Arizona State University
  • Michael Pemberton, Co-Director, Consultant Evaluator Service, Georgia Southern University

Past WPA Presidents

Since 1978, the Council of Writing Program Administrators has had these presidents: 

Past WPA Presidents / Years Served

  • Dominic DelliCarpini (2017-2019)
  • Susan Miller-Cochran (2015-2017)
  • Rita Malenczyk (2013-2015)
  • Duane Roen (2011-2013)
  • Linda Adler-Kassner (2009-2011)
  • Joseph Janangelo (2007-2009)
  • Shirley K Rose (2005-2007)
  • Chris Anson (1/2003-6/2005)
  • Kathleen Blake Yancey (2001-2002)
  • Doug Hesse (1999-2000)
  • Theresa Enos (1997-1998)
  • Charles Schuster (1995-1996)
  • Barbara Cambridge (1993-1994)
  • Ben McClelland (1991-1992)
  • Lynn Z. Bloom (1989-1990)
  • Linda Peterson (1987-1988)
  • Winifred Horner (1985-1986)
  • Harvey Wiener (1979-1985)

Past Executive Boards

2019 Exec Board

2018 Exec Board

2017 Exec Board

2016 CWPA Exec Board

2015 CWPA Exec Board

2014 CWPA Exec Board

2013 CWPA Exec Board

2012 CWPA Exec Board

2011 CWPA Exec Board

2010 CWPA Exec Board

2009 CWPA Exec Board

2008 CWPA Exec Board

2007 CWPA Exec Board

2006 CWPA Exec Board

2005 CWPA Exec Board

2004 CWPA Exec Board

2003 CWPA Exec Board

2002 CWPA Exec Board

2001 CWPA Exec Board

2000 CWPA Exec Board