Minority WPA Summer Workshop Grants

The Research Grants Committee and Executive Board of the Council of Writing Program Administrators will be awarding five $1000 Minority WPA Summer Workshop Grants. For more details, please see
http://ceps.georgiasouthern.edu/conted/wpa2013workshop.html.

Deadline for applications is Friday, May 3, 2013, at midnight.

Purpose: The WPA Fund for the Support of Minority Writing Program Administrators provides financial support to writing program administrators who are members of underrepresented minorities to attend the WPA Summer Workshop. These groups include African Americans, Asian Americans, Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans and other Latino and Latina Americans, and Native Americans. Involvement in and contributions to the work of writing program administration by members of these groups is critically important to our profession.

Grant Amounts and Deadline for Applications: The Council provides up to five grants of $1000 each, which covers most of the cost of tuition and meals for the recipients for 4 days. Applications will be accepted through May 3, and recipients will be notified by May 15, 2013.

Criteria for Selection: The WPA Grants Committee considers the following in awarding the WPA Fund for the Support of Minority Writing Program Administrators Summer Workshop Grants: financial need; willingness of the applicant's institution to recognize and provide additional support (travel, remaining workshop costs, etc.) in recognition of the usefulness of the candidate's participation to his or her campus; centrality of the workshop experience to the applicant's current or desired position; and prior experience as a WPA (those with less experience are given higher priority). All new and future WPAs, including non-tenure-track and part-time faculty as well as graduate students, are welcome to apply.

To Apply: Please complete the attached application and email it to Chuck Paine at cpaine@unm.edu and copy Cristyn Elder at celder@unm.edu. Please put “Minority WPA Summer Workshop Grants” in the subject line of your email. Please also include a CV. Application materials will then be forwarded to the Grants Committee for review. You will receive acknowledgement that we have received your application within three days of receipt.

Reseach Grants Committee:

Chuck Paine (chair) cpaine@unm.edu
Jonikka Charlton jcharlton@utpa.edu
Tiane Donahue christiane.k.donahue@dartmouth.edu
Jenn Fishmanjennfishman.phd@gmail.com
Dayna V. Goldstein daynagoldstein@georgiasouthern.edu
Amy C. Kimme Heakimmehea@email.arizona.edu
Michelle LaFrance mlafrance@umassd.edu
Sue Mendelsohnsuemendelsohn@columbia.edu
Laura Micciche laura.micciche@uc.edu
Shelley Reid ereid1@gmu.edu