Call for Nominations - CWPA Executive Board Members and Vice President

Call for Nominations for CWPA Executive Board and Vice President Elections

In July 2011 the CWPA Executive Board will say goodbye to members Melissa Ianetta, University of Delaware; Brian Huot, Kent State University; and Susan Thomas, University of Sydney. Additionally, Joe Janangelo, Immediate Past President, Loyola University (Chicago) will leave the Executive Board; Linda Adler-Kassner will succeed him as Past President; and Duane Roen will become CWPA President.

We therefore invite nominations for three new Executive Board members and for Vice President.

The Executive Board oversees the CWPA, its events, and its activities; forms policies and procedures for its management; and engages in special projects and initiatives. The new board members will serve for three years, with terms beginning in July 2011. The new Vice President will have a six-year commitment—two years in each of the following positions: Vice President, President, and Immediate Past President.

Nominees should have a demonstrated commitment to the work of the Council and a background in writing program administration. They must be willing to attend Board meetings at the CCCC conference and at the CWPA summer conference during the three-year term of service. Self-nominations as well as nominations of others are welcomed. To be considered, a nomination should include all contact information, a CV (attached or available at a Web site) or a description of the nominee’s work, and a statement explaining why the nominee makes a strong candidate for membership on the CWPA Executive Board or for the role of Vice President. Candidates for the position of Vice President must have served on the CWPA Executive Board. If possible, please secure the nominee’s permission before submitting the nomination.

All nominators and nominees must be current members of the Council of Writing Program Administrators. Nominations are reviewed by the CWPA Nominating Committee, which develops a slate of candidates for the ballot.

If you have questions about serving on the Executive Board, please contact Duane Roen, Chair of the CWPA Nominating Committee, at the following address:

Please send your nominations via e-mail to Duane Roen by October 1, 2010. Please use the heading “Executive Board Nomination” in your message.

Other Nominating Committee members are Linda Adler-Kassner, Shelley Rodrigo, Nick Behm, and Shelley Reid.