Call for Nominations for CWPA Executive Board Elections

In July 2012 the CWPA Executive Board will say goodbye to members Darsie Bowden, DePaul University; Doug Downs, Montana State University; and Chuck Paine, University of New Mexico. We therefore invite nominations for three new Executive Board members.

The Executive Board oversees the CWPA, its events, and its activities; creates policies and procedures for its management; and engages in special projects and initiatives. The new Executive Board members will serve for three years, with terms beginning in July 2012.

Nominees should have a demonstrated commitment to the work of the Council and a background in writing program administration. They must be able and willing to attend Board meetings at the CCCC conference and at the CWPA summer conference during the three-year term of service. Self-nominations as well as nominations of others are welcomed. To be considered, a nomination should include the following: all contact information; a CV (attached or available at a Web site) or a description of the nominee's work; and a statement explaining why the nominee makes a strong candidate for membership on the CWPA Executive Board. Please secure the nominee's permission before submitting the nomination.

All nominators and nominees must be current members of the Council of Writing Program Administrators. Nominations are reviewed by the CWPA Nominating Committee, which develops a slate of candidates for the ballot.

If you have questions about serving on the Executive Board, please contact Rita Malenczyk, Chair of the CWPA Nominating Committee, at Please send your nominations via e-mail to Rita Malenczyk by October 31, 2011. Please use the heading "Executive Board Nomination" in your message.

Other Nominating Committee members are Doug Downs, Lennie Irvin, and Elizabeth VanderLei.