Call For Executive Board Nominations

Call for Nominations for WPA Executive Board Members

WPA will hold elections for three Executive Board members this fall. We will be saying thank you and goodbye to Executive Board members Rebecca Moore Howard, Martha Patton, and Susan Miller-Cochran, whose terms end in June 2007, and invite nominations for three Executive Board members
to replace those rotating off. The Executive Board oversees the WPA, its events, and its activities, creates policies and procedures for its
management, and engages in special projects and initiatives. The new Board members will serve for three years, with terms beginning in July
of 2007.

Nominees for the Executive Board should have a demonstrated commitment to the work of the Council and a background in writing program administration, and should be willing to attend Board meetings at the CCCC and at the WPA summer conference. Self-nominations as well as nominations of others are welcome. To be considered, a nomination should include all contact information, a C.V. (attached or posted on a listed web site) or a description of the nominee's work as a WPA, and a statement explaining why the nominee makes a strong candidate for membership on the WPA Executive Board. If possible, please secure the nominee's permission before submitting the nomination.

All nominators and nominees must be current members of the Council of Writing Program Administrators. Nominations are reviewed by the WPA
Nominating Committee, which creates a slate for vote by the membership.

Please send your nominations to the Chair of the WPA Nominating Committee, Joe Janangelo ( by Tuesday, November 21, 2006.
Nominating Committee members are Chris Anson, Joe Janangelo and Susan Miller-Cochran. Please use the subject heading "Executive Board Nomination"

WPA will also elect a new Vice-President. Nominees for Vice-President make a six-year commitment to WPA, first serving as
vice-president for two years, as president for the next two years, and as immediate past president for a final two years. The nominating
committee chooses Vice-Presidential candidates from among recent Executive Board members.