CWPA Best Book Award

Please circulate widely!

The Council of Writing Program Administrators seeks nominations for its Best Book Award for 2014. This award recognizes books whose authors or editors have made an outstanding contribution to the field of writing program administration over the past calendar year.

Award Requirements

The book:

  1. Has a copyright date of 2014.
  2. Addresses an issue that is related to the scholarship of WPA work (including but not limited to writing center administration, assessment, professional development, curricular design, labor issues, etc.).
  3. Builds on or extends previous scholarship relevant to WPA work and/or addresses a notable gap in the scholarship of WPA work.
  4. Makes a significant, meaningful, and/or innovative contribution to scholarship of writing program administration.
  5. Makes the contribution accessible to appropriate audiences.
  6. Is appropriate for the broad range of contexts in which WPA work takes place.

Nominating Procedures

Send a letter of nomination to Mark Blaauw-Hara by November 6, 2015 at <>.

In their letters, nominators should explain how the book meets the award requirements stated above, particularly focusing on the WPA-related issue they believe that the book addresses, the gap in the scholarship of WPA work that the book takes up, and the significance of the book’s contribution to writing program administrators. Nominations not accompanied by letters that address these questions may be disqualified from consideration.

We are glad to accept nominations from authors themselves as well as faculty, staff, graduate students, and publishers.

Again, all nominations must be received by Friday, November 6, 2015.

Members of the Best Book Award Committee are Mark Blaauw-Hara (North Central Michigan College), Susan Bordelon (San Diego State University), Tom Deans (University of Connecticut), Jill Parrott (Eastern Kentucky University), and Amy Ferdinandt Stolley (Saint Xavier University).