New WPA President, VP, and Executive Board Members Take Office

Dear Fellow CWPA Members:

Yesterday, July1, was an important day for the organization as we made a transition in leadership. Joe Janangelo (Loyola University Chicago) moved into the position of WPA President and Linda Adler-Kassner (Eastern Michigan University) began her term as WPA Vice-President. Three new Executive Board members began their three-year terms: Jeff Andelora (Mesa Community college), Eli Goldblatt (Temple University), and Barbara L’Eplattenier (University of Arkansas-Little Rock).

Please join me in welcoming them to their new roles and wishing them the very best as they take on this work on our behalf.

Please also join me in thanking Chris Anson (North Carolina State University), our outgoing Immediate Past President of WPA for his nine years of service on the WPA Executive Board. Three other Executive Board members have ended their three-year board terms: Susan Miller-Cochran (North Carolina State University), Rebecca Moore Howard (Syracuse University), and Marty Patton (University of Missouri-Columbia). I know that all four of these colleagues will continue to give the organization the benefit of their energies and wisdom.

If you will be attending the upcoming 2007 WPA Summer Conference in Tempe next week, you’ll have a chance to extend these welcomes and thanks in person, when we formally recognize these colleagues at the Friday evening banquet.


Shirley Rose,
Immediate Past President,
Council of Writing Program Administrators